Allies

In reading about the violence in Charlottesville, Virginia this weekend it’s easy to lose heart; to think that the alt-right, the white supremacist, nazis, racists are gaining ground. And it’s easy to get saddened and to want to curl up in a ball and disappear from it all. But, of course, that isn’t the answer. 

I have to constantly remind myself these days that in shining a light on the issues we will be able to address them. Let’s face it, this isn’t new. Racism has been there all along. It was just more hidden and mor insidious that it is today. And systemically, it’s always been there and still is. As a white person I often feel at a loss as to what I can do. I read, educate myself on the issues and don’t stay quiet when I see it happening. But it never feels like enough. I want to rage and fight and attack it. 

I read an article today from Another Round that talks about what we, as white people can do to help. As they say, it isn’t about us, but we do need to be good allies. We need to walk beside, not in front, of people of colour.we need to take our head’s out of the sand and stop being shocked at how prevalent racism is. Because it isn’t new. POC have been living with this for as long as they’ve been ‘integrated’ into societies that are predominantly white. So I will keep learning, keep reading, keep speaking up when appropriate. I have, and probably will continue, to make mistakes along the way. But I will not shy away from the issues. It’s far too important. 

If you’d like to read the article I’ve referred to, here’s the link: How to be a Better Ally

About Reena Davis

I am a certified yoga teacher and a student of all things spiritual.
This entry was posted in yoga and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

