If you don’t love your work…

I was scrolling through Facebook the other day and came across this Steve Jobs quote: Steve Jobs quote

And I thought to myself – I don’t love my (day) job. Sometimes I like it, sometimes it’s rewarding, sometimes it’s fulfilling. But I don’t get up every morning eager to get to work. I don’t think to myself- “there is nothing I’d rather be doing right now!” But the thing is, it pays all the bills, keeps a roof over my head and keeps me and my dog fed. Am I settling?

Or are we setting up unrealistic expectations when we make claims like this?

Are our young people getting the idea that if they aren’t loving every bit of their job that it is somehow unworthy of their time? Have we gotten away from ‘an honest days work’ or that ‘doing a job well is it’s own reward’? Can society even function if everyone loves their work? Aren’t there some jobs that would be impossible to fill? Or maybe I’m taking this love thing a little too literally.

I certainly think we should do work that is at least in part fulfilling. But work comes with some pieces that we don’t like. Even an artist needs to sell their wares. That probably isn’t an appealing part of the job, but if they want a roof over  their heads and a meal they better get out there and sell themselves or their product. Sometimes we can feel fulfilled simply because we’re helping others, or we’re good at what we do. It’s an intrinsic feeling unrelated to the outside world and just because we have an attitude of appreciation, we feel valued and that’s enough.

I say love the one your with.

About Reena Davis

I am a certified yoga teacher and a student of all things spiritual.
This entry was posted in yoga and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If you don’t love your work…

  1. I really agree with you. It’s not realistic for most of us to expect a job that we love every minute of. If you enjoy your work, find it rewarding and are fairly paid for what you do, you are successful in my book. Of course there will always be some bits of the job that are boring or difficult. And there is always room for growth and movement too. I think that as a society we do not do enough to honour all the people who do important jobs – cleaning, caring, providing services, making things – but probably don’t love their jobs. Where would we be without them?

Leave a Reply

