Rumours

Pssst…have you heard? 

I found out this week that there was a rumour going around my partner’s work place about me: that I was terminally ill and dying! His co-worker was asking if he was excited for his upcoming trip and asked who he was going with. When he told her I was going she was shocked and asked how I could be going. He was a little confused and asked what she meant. She said that she heard I was on the verge of death. 

My partner is very private. To be honest I wasn’t even sure people he worked with knew I existed lol. So I was super confused about how these people I’d never met would have this is their minds. It turns out that my sister knows someone that my partner works with. So somehow between my sister telling her that I had kidney disease and would need a transplant and when it got back to my partner the story completely changed. I was a little disconcerted at having that sort of energy coming my way. Not healing energy, but dying energy. Huh.

It seems that we humans love to tell stories. And when the story is incomplete we complete it in our minds. We do this perceptually all the time. When there ar pieces missing from pictures we fill in the missing bits (which I’ve always found really fascinating). And we do the same when telling stories I think. We imagine we know the truth and pass it on. But we get it wrong. And so does the next person and the next person. Wouldn’t it be great if when we filled in the details we would fill them in with something great? ‘She has kidney disease but I think she’ll get the transplant and make a full recovery.’ I would rather that energy coming my way๐Ÿ˜€

Just for fun, here are some perceptual illusions: thebrain.mcgill.ca 

About Reena Davis

I am a certified yoga teacher and a student of all things spiritual.
This entry was posted in yoga and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rumours

  1. Val Boyko says:

    Sending you heaps of light and lightness โ˜€๏ธ๐Ÿ’›๐ŸŒŸ๐Ÿ˜Š

  2. David says:

    I think sometimes that it is in stories not bound by facts that we get the deepest truth. A story can present human meaning in a way that fact cannot. To insist upon a literal meaning might mean missing the lesson. Like you say, Reena, we like to fill in the blanks. We put ourselves into the story and find our own insights. Good post. Thanks.

  3. I Quit Wineing says:

    Wow, we just love stories don’t we, and we even add to them to make them more interesting. Hopefully now they have been told the truth stability will reign ๐Ÿ˜˜

  4. babycrow says:

    Hm, I had something similar when I was at school. everyone thought I had meningitis rather than ME. Then at Uni it was MS rather than ME. ME is tedious but these other conditions were more exciting for anyone who wanted to gossip about likely recoveries…. Hoping you’re doing well and surrounded by positivity from those who really know you

  5. Rob says:

    People should just shut the hell up. Gosh

  6. eliza rudolf says:

    Nice post…๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ

Leave a Reply

