Joyful snow day

We’re having a major storm here in Nova Scotia and just about everything shut down for the day. My guy and I had a day off, my dog is grateful for that even if he doesn’t want to go out to pee! So today is about laying around, playing a little scrabble (we each won one game and then quit- no need for tie breakers here). Just chilling out with absolutely nothing to get done. 

When I was a kid I loved snow days and I must admit I still do. As a kid I would go out to play in the now. That meant snowballs, snow forts (my brother was the best snow fort builder) and having mittens that were heavy with icy snow that definitely  didn’t do a thing to keep your hands warm. It sometimes meant putting bread bags in my boots to keep my feet dry, mom ordering me to keep my hat on and eating snow. It was joy. There’s still something joyful about a storm day because it’s forced relaxation. There really isn’t anywhere to go. The only things to do are reading, writing, a little yoga and meditation, maybe a work out followed by a hot bath. Still joy, just my new grown up joy. 

Your perspective changes with age and experiences. A day like this in my 20s probably would have felt oppressive. I wouldn’t be able to get any booze for one. I would have felt alone with myself, trapped. Alone now means so much more to me. It’s time for self-reflection, time for rejuvenation. It’s the best. And of course I’m not alone today. I get to spend the day partly in comfortable silence with my guy, partly playing with my bored dog, partly napping. Like I said, joy. I guess this is part of what’s great about having seasons. You get to experience joy in vastly different environments, under vastly different circumstances. It teaches you to be happy with whatever shows up in your life. To see the benefit. 

I hope wherever you are you’re having a joyful day too. And that if the haven’t been, you can change your perspective.

About Reena Davis

I am a certified yoga teacher and a student of all things spiritual.
This entry was posted in yoga and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Joyful snow day

  1. Rob says:

    Loved your story, especially the bread bags, omg I thought we were the only kids who had to do that. Those old black rubber boots that had adjustable clasps that would punch you if you weren’t paying attention

Leave a Reply

