A Story of Depression

Today in Canada it’s #Bellletstalk day. A day that is centered around raisin money for mental health programs. Bell Aliant donated .05 for every text, FB post etc that has the #Bellletstalk. I thought I would re-post this blog post about my own depression in honour of this day.

My Human Experience

As someone who has had my own struggles around depression and alcohol abuse, it saddens me to hear of others who have lost touch with themselves enough to commit suicide. Everyone is talking about Robin Williams’ apparent suicide today. And I thought it might be a good time to share my experience with depression.

When I decided to take medication for depression I felt a measure of shame; as if I was weak, or that I should be able to fix myself- I’m a yogi, I should be able to meditate myself out of this ‘funk’ or do heart opening poses to help. When discussing how I felt with a medical professional I was told to look at my lifestyle. I blew up: I do yoga every day, meditate every day, read spiritual and self-empowering books all the time, eat healthy, don’t drink or take drugs. What more can I…

View original post 279 more words

About Reena Davis

I am a certified yoga teacher and a student of all things spiritual.
This entry was posted in yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

