The Yoga of Imperishable Brahman

om_store_costa_rica-221221024In the eighth discourse of the Bhagavad Gita, Lord Krishna explains to Arjuna that it is the single-minded devotion of our heart through which we attain God-knowing and end the cycle of birth and death. Love is at the heart of knowing God; through loving we experience God.

Arjuna asks about various terms used by Krishna such as the Supreme Being. Krishna tells him that the Supreme Being, or Brahman, is beyond what is manifest and unmanifest. It is the makeup of everything including our human bodies. By embracing Brahman fully and completely we move beyond this world of pain and suffering, of good and bad, and attain eternal blessedness. Self-control is a big part of this. By controlling senses and withdrawing senses from outside objects we attune to God more fully.

Krishna also explains that at the point of death whatever is on one’s mind is where we are led. If our thoughts are occupied by a specific theme, that will be where our thinking is at the time of death. That is why it is important to cultivate thoughts of love all of our lives. By repeating Om in meditation, one invokes the Lord.

Some people believe that no matter how you live your life if you have God on your mind at the time of death you will be let into ‘heaven’. I’m not a believer in heaven per se, I believe that spirit is everywhere around us. I think that this discourse for me is saying it’s best to live your life in a way that is aligned with love. When we experience love in all situations, for all beings, when love is the unwavering theme of life, perhaps reincarnation stops. Maybe we become teaching souls. Maybe we become guides. I don’t really know. But I do believe in spirit  and I do believe in reincarnation. I don’t claim to have all the answers, but I really think we can’t go wrong with love.

What does this discourse mean to you? What are your thoughts around reincarnation? I’d love to hear from you!

About Reena Davis

I am a certified yoga teacher and a student of all things spiritual.
This entry was posted in Spirituality, yoga and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Yoga of Imperishable Brahman

  1. Rob says:

    Fabulosity. Just so darned good. I hope you are happy and healthy.

  2. David says:

    Before I read the Gita, I had read Carlos Castaneda. He had written a series of books describing his time with Don Juan, a Yaqui shaman. Don Juan taught that one strives to become “a man of knowledge.” Castaneda asked him at what point do you know that you have succeeded. Don Juan said not until your last breath. I have referred to that teaching many times over the years. And then later I found the same lesson again in the Gita – the one you present here. I like the hopefulness of it that says it’s never too late to get it right. There’s is no reason to give up, no matter how out of it you think you are. On the other hand, we can’t rest on our accomplishments. It takes strong effort right to the end. I think of Gandhi chanting “Ram” as he was dying, having been assassinated. What we hold in our minds makes all the difference. Thanks, Reena.

  3. Pingback: The Yoga of Liberation by Renunciation | My Human Experience

Leave a Reply

