Commitment

We make lots of commitments over the course of our lives. Some we keep and some go to the wayside. Commitments to our work, our relationships, our studies, our personal development. It’s difficult to stay with a commitment, though, if it seems one-sided.

Imagine that you’re taking a course and the prof sometimes doesn’t bother to show up. Would you be inclined to stick with it, to put in your best efforts? I can tell you from personal experience that when that happened to me once I didn’t bother going to class. It seemed unimportant because the prof didn’t act like it was important. The particular prof was not committed.

Teaching yoga classes I have found that when I have people showing up on a regular basis I feel more committed to the class. The class seems more cohesive and their energy begins to blend. It even seems as if they’ve made a commitment to lift each other up. They encourage each other. Their very presence each week is meaningful both to me and to the others in the class.

I was speaking to a class participant one day recently about this subject. I said “I commit to them and I expect them to commit to me”. Of course it’s much more than a commitment to me – it’s making the commitment to self. To acknowledge that yoga or exercise or meditation – whatever you choose to work on your own wellness – is important and should be given the same weight as other commitments in your life. It’s to engage fully. To set up a goal and showing up and sticking to it to effect positive change in your life.

We live in a world where perhaps commitment seems a little outdated. We don’t necessarily work on relationships. We give them up with relative ease sometimes. We don’t necessarily follow through on all work commitments or school commitments. We are often permitted to do so because of a lack of consequences. But is it time we look once again at commitment? Embrace it even? Acknowledge the power in staying fully committed to that which serves us? Maybe it’s time. And maybe, we’ll all feel better for it.

About Reena Davis

I am a certified yoga teacher and a student of all things spiritual.
This entry was posted in asana, Pose, yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Commitment

  1. Val Boyko says:

    Tapas – yes! 🙏

Leave a Reply

