Take a Leap of Faith

I sold my condo. For $17,000 less than I paid for it. Ouch! I got the offer and immediately rejected it. He had a $2000 cash back clause in the offer. Nope, not gonna happen. I decided to take it off the market completely, but was really bummed about it. I want to get on with the next phase in my life.

After I rejected the offer, the buyer came back with the same price but no cash back. I had a lot of thinking to do. I have health concerns (see this previous post) that make me want to get settled sooner rather than later. I want to have an in house yoga studio. And  I want a fenced yard for my dog. I’d like him to have that for the last few years of his life. Back and forth I went in my mind. Wasn’t exactly a restful weekend for me. I talked to my boyfriend, to my mother. I drew a Rune stone. Back and forth, back and forth. Losing so much money on it. But I don’t want to live where i am, I can’t get on with my dreams there. back and forth, back and forth. I told the real estate agent yes, I’m selling. he prepped the paperwork and when it came to signing time I hesitated again. Normally I am a very decisive person. I make quick decisions on the fly. But it was so much money.

When I talked to my mom she said ‘it’s just money, and when it comes down to it, money really is just a concept.’ It’s true. And I’m really not very driven by money.

I have lived in the condo for 6 years. There have been some changes that I didn’t like (I wrote about them here). It’s not the same place as it was when I moved in. It’s not going to turn back into that place. I expected after 6 years living there that I would be making money. I expected the market to pick up a bit. I expected that the changes I made to the condo would make it worth more. Expectations are tough. When we have expectations we can be very disappointed. So I thought, what it I just take a leap faith and know that the universe always has my back.

In yoga we detach from outcomes, we lose the expectations we have of what our body can and cannot do from day to day. In doing that, we find that we are able to ease into new positions, new challenges without struggling. In the struggle we sometimes lose sight of what it is we need for our growth. We lose sight of the lessons that are presented to us. We get caught up in the outcome and our own expectations.

I’ve decided to get out of my own way and let the universe handle the details. And I’ve found peace with that decision.

About Reena Davis

I am a certified yoga teacher and a student of all things spiritual.
This entry was posted in yoga and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Take a Leap of Faith

  1. Val Boyko says:

    Detachment from outcomes brings space for possibilities! Wishing you well Reena

  2. Pingback: The root of heartache | Yoga With Maheshwari

Leave a Reply

