Peace Day

Image from: weknowyourdreams.com

Image from: weknowyourdreams.com

Today is the International Day of Peace. It’s a day that the United Nations calls for all warring parties to put down their weapons and have a cease fire. There are two different meanings  to peace. One is the freedom from or cessation of war; the other being freedom from disturbance, it is tranquility and calm. For me peace encompasses the second definition and looks within. When my mind is calm, when I let of of struggling, I feel peace. When this inner peace is unshakable others around me respond in kind. They too feel more peace. Our influence can go both ways. Imagine if you will, if a large mass of people had an unshakable peace within. Would there still be war? Would there still be conflict? The only way to find out is one person at a time allowing peace to be their driving force. Do I achieve this every day? No, I don’t. But every time I do achieve it I’m helping the world find peace.

I was struck by this image when I went in search of peace images. It seems to capture the true essence of peace. Many religions, faiths, spiritual paths represented around the world. All working together toward peace.

About Reena Davis

I am a certified yoga teacher and a student of all things spiritual.
This entry was posted in Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

