Teaching and Learning

I spent the past week teaching an elective course in Thai Yoga Massage at ICT Northumberland College for their second year massage therapy students. It was my first time teaching Thai massage so I thought I might be nervous. I loved it! I have such a passion for this work that I couldn’t help being enthusiastic about it. The students were receptive to the learning style, which is very hands on. And I felt true pride in them in the last day as they exchanged the 90 minute practice with each other. They held their posture the way I had stressed all week, their transitions were quite smooth from one pose to the next bringing about the that yoga massage “dance”. They were even receptive to my suggestions around centering and grounding and using the bhandas or locks in the body, which is not part of Thai massage, but certainly useful when giving one.
The other thing that happened this week for me is that I renewed my excitement over Thai massage. I’ve maintained a passion for it all along, but this was the excitement of something new. I began to look at it with a beginners eye again. As in my yoga practice, when I am able to look freshly at my practice again, I find myself going deeper; making the small adjustments to my own body that are needed for my comfort or safety, breathing more deeply, becoming more meditative. It’s such a wonderful gift to receive from this class. To refresh in a whole new way, to be motivated to learn more, to go deeper into my knowledge and into this journey I am on.
I’ve had some wonderful opportunities to share Thai massage and yoga philosophy over the past couple of years and I look forward to even more. Teaching and learning are two sides of the same coin and the more we share what we know the more we learn. I’ve been very fortunate to have so many opportunities in the short time since I ventured on this new path.

About Reena Davis

I am a certified yoga teacher and a student of all things spiritual.
This entry was posted in yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Teaching and Learning

  1. alohaleya says:

    I can feel your enthusiasm…it’s so wonderful to re-discover something we truly love, through teaching it to others. Now I want a Thai massage! Hehe. 🙂 Aleya

Leave a Reply

