Be grateful for whoever comes

“Be grateful for whoever comes, because each has been sent as a guide from beyond.” – Rumi

Detachment. I seem to have a lifelong struggle going on with the this concept. I feel as though I have made strides and then in creep the desires, the aversions, the wanting of a change in circumstance. I feel pleasure and want to hang onto it; I meet with difficulty and want to run away. Inevitably I meet people along the journey that I am drawn to that disappear and others who I want out of my life who simply stay for what feels an eternity. And I am reminded once again, that I am only human. If life were easy all the time where would there be growth? How would we learn to be truly grateful for all who come into our lives as Rumi suggests?

The more I practice coming back to centre when confronted with life’s perpetual ups and downs, the more able I am to return to that place inside where I remember that what happens externally truly doesn’t matter; how I react is all there is. Can I see the people and circumstances I am confronted with as a lesson to be learned and nothing more? Can I experience my life in a way that allows me to feel deeply and truly in each moment and then allow that moment to go?

Of course, first, I need to let go of the desire to live my life in such a way.

 

About Reena Davis

I am a certified yoga teacher and a student of all things spiritual.
This entry was posted in yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

