Today

There are only two days a year when we can do nothing. One is called yesterday, and the other tomorrow.
~ His Holiness the Dalai Lama

I’ve been very busy the last few weeks preparing for a new semester of students that will come to the legal aid clinic in which I work full time. Each semester is like this; I think many jobs have these ebbs and flows. Through busy times like this, though, it becomes even more important to stay present; to be only in the day we are in- it’s the only one we have after all! While preparing for what is to come is important, and we wouldn’t want to stay in the moment in a way that means we don’t prepare, we do need to stay with the task at hand. For me this means having a list of things that need to get done and focusing solely on the one task that I am completing today. When I think of the whole job rather than in tasks it can seem very overwhelming. When I simply get one task done a a time, I do it well, I feel no stress about it and I remember to take the time to do what I need to in order for my mind and body to stay healthy- for me that means taking breaks, doing yoga, and meditating.

When we think of everything that has happened in the past, maybe the things that have gone wrong before, and think about the future, we feel far more stress. Stay present in your journey, one step at a time, and try to enjoy the moment you are in. This moment truly is all that exists, use it wisely.

About Reena Davis

I am a certified yoga teacher and a student of all things spiritual.
This entry was posted in yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today

  1. Maia says:

    Dalai Lama says the simplest words but holds such profound truth. Always makes me smile. =)

Leave a Reply

