Martin Luther King Day

This quote by Martin Luther King Jr. brings to mind the yoga concept of Ahmisa, non-harming. When we truly practice non-harming we look at what violence takes place within our own minds. Our thoughts are very powerful, choose them wisely. When our thoughts are of a negative nature whether they be directed to our own selves or toward others, they create harm. We are all connected, so we are all affected.

About Reena Davis

I am a certified yoga teacher and a student of all things spiritual.
This entry was posted in yoga and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Martin Luther King Day

  1. colgore says:

    I once was challenged to go one week without saying or thinking anything negative about another person or myself. I didn’t even realize how much I wasn’t saying, but was thinking. I truly agree that negative thoughts have an impact on ourselves and others. During that week, I actually did really well. Every time I would start to form a judgement I would bring myself back to that place of love. It’s freeing. I love Martin Luther King, Jr. He was a yogi at heart.

    • I’ve heard a couple of simple techniques for moving away from negative thoughts- 1 is to say ‘next’ as soon as you notice it and the other is to say ‘cancel, cancel, cancel’ to get rid of the energy from it. I like your way of coming back to love. Thanks for commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

