Lojong Slogan 10: Begin the sequence of sending and taking with yourself

This is part 10 of my Lojong series, the Buddhist mind training teachings

This slogan asks that we begin to look at our own suffering, to really get to know it, to feel it, to examine why it stays with us, what keeps it going? We breathe in our own suffering wholly whether it be physical, mental, or emotional in order to really get to know what suffering is. By examining our own suffering in this way we begin to build compassion for ourselves, the first step in building compassion for others. So bring it in, welcome it fully, really figure out why the suffering continues- even if you feel you should not suffer because your life is pretty good- examine it without guilt. Accept fully what it is you feel. Feel compassion and loving kindness for your own situation so that you can spread that sentiment to others. This begins the journey of healing and peace not only for ourselves but for the world.

About Reena Davis

I am a certified yoga teacher and a student of all things spiritual.
This entry was posted in yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lojong Slogan 10: Begin the sequence of sending and taking with yourself

  1. Beautiful, Maheshwari. And so true. Before we can truly understand and welcome in the vulnerabilities of others, we must get to know and even love our own. ❤

  2. Rob says:

    I really like your slogan and love how much substance you have within your blog! I have searched far and wide since beginning my own soulful journey here in cyberspace for like-minded souls, and I am glad I found such a place as yours. Namaste, Rob

  3. amoonfull says:

    I need this today too. And I don’t know that it’s suffering what I felt this morning, more like frustration. As I was driving to work, I began asking myself, what is my lesson in this every-morning traffic? It’s so unnecessary. Whether I leave home early, on time or late, i always get to work late because traffic is hectic and i feel and say to myself, “what are we doing? Why the rush? Why do we live like this? How is this living? How is this way of commuting healthy for us? It’s crazy!”

    But it doesn’t change the fact that i’m still late. So what is my lesson? I don’t know. We live in a world where too many cars take up space, so highways are always in construction, expanding. Everyone is trying to get to work at the same time. Everyone is rushing, or taking their sweet time, slowing down those who really need to be somewhere. I don’t know. It’s frustration not suffering for me. And I still don’t know why!

    • Suffering comes in many different forms and frustration is one of them. I sometimes get caught up in the “I’m going to be late” thing too, but then remind myself that nothing is going to happen if I’m late to work. If I’ve done what I can to be on time and respectful of others time there’s nothing else I can do but use the commute time to meditate in a way (with my eyes open of course 🙂 ) It’s good practice for calming the mind when we have no control.

  4. Pingback: Lojong | Yoga With Maheshwari

Leave a Reply

