A little yoga humor

When teaching Setu Bandhasana (Bridge Pose) by putting a ball between a student’s knees so they will not splay the legs apart, this was said to a male yoga student:  “Wow!  You could fit two balls between your legs!”

I saw this on http://www.egreenway.com/yoga/humor.htm and it made me think of some of the things that I say during yoga classes that are silly or just plain wrong. I often get my body parts mixed up – I say hands when I mean feet or wrist instead of ankle pretty frequently. Those who take my classes often have learned that if it doesn’t make any sense at all I’m probably talking about an entirely different limb. I’ve told people to stop breathing after doing pranayama (breathing exercises) and after realizing what I’d said added ‘well, not altogether.’ I’m pretty sure there have been other, more outrageous things I’ve said but they escape me right now (selective memory). What about you? Have you heard or said anything in a yoga or fitness class that cracked you up? Feel free to comment below!

About Reena Davis

I am a certified yoga teacher and a student of all things spiritual.
This entry was posted in asana, yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A little yoga humor

  1. Awareness says:

    I love humor in spirituality, it keeps it real 🙂

  2. georgeagongse says:

    Reblogged this on George Gong Blogs.

  3. thowling says:

    Yup, I’ve heard and said a bunch of those… I only remember a few now: “Touch your forehead to your nose” and “Bring your foot to your mouth”…
    I like that you add lightness to posts, and thanks for visiting my blog.

Leave a Reply

